Long live rock

There are times when I feel I’m clinging to sanity by the most frayed of threads. Most political seasons turn into these times. Strangely, though, it’s not the endless bs streaming into my mind in the form of political advertisements that’s irritating me. It is commercials, however. Two of them.

Try as I might I can’t seem to escape that bald-headed asshole who is 49, plays in a rock band, and peddles Bowflex. I hate that bastard! My disdain is stoked primarily by the “playing bass in a rock band” line. What in the hell does being a bald-headed muscle-man have to do with being a topless bass player? Is it just me, or is this commercial insulting to everybody who ever played in a rock band, because they could play, and not because they were or weren’t a muscle-man? Shit!

Even more vile is John Mellencamp’s Silverado commercial. Don’t get me wrong, I respect Mellencamp. He’s been a bright spot on the dingy rock and roll scene for almost 30 years now. But Jesus, I can’t stand to hear that freakin’ mindless bullshit tune 12 times in two hours everytime I want to watch some football. Mellencamp should be ashamed. It’s not like he needs the money. (Does he?) He’s pretty much torn his ass with me. I haven’t deleted his MP3s from my iTunes yet, but that day is coming.

Leave a comment

Filed under Advertising, Music

Leave a Reply

