Mel Gibson

Mel Gibson has been a favorite of mine for nearly 20 years. I like his movies. He doesn’t hang out in the same circles I do. He probably doesn’t know people like me even exist. He’s rich and isolated from the masses. I hope he’s grateful for that.

It’s not a stretch to say that Gibson isn’t ever on my radar unless I’m seated in a movie theater. At least that was the case until recently. Due to the 24-hour news cycle, and the insatiable appetite for crap it feeds, Mel Gibson has begun to haunt me as I attempt to amuse myself with the Internet and Direct TV.

Everybody suffering from ennui knows that Mel got liquored up and took his Lexus for a spin. Unfortunately for Mr. Gibson, he was captured by the cops as he blissfully endangered the lives of the folks sharing the roadway with him. Happens all the time. Hell, I’ve done it. Double hell, I’ve been caught doing it.

Anyway, Mel said some nasty things about Jews to the cops who arrested him. When they captured me as a drunk-driving teenager, I informed the arresting officer that cops were mental midgets and queers. I’m not famous though. My best bet would probably have been if that cop had Rodney Kinged me, and someone would have caught it on tape. Nevertheless, my reputation survived that lapse in judgement. I ruined in completely in subsequent years with other questionable choices.

Mr. Gibson’s reputation is being dragged through the mud because he said some nasty stuff about Jews. It’s likely that he’d be catching less negative press had he run several Jews down while drunk, then kept quiet about it during his arrest. Why anybody, other than the unfortunates that comprise the ranks of MADD, gives a hoot in hell about the Mel Gibson matter, is a mystery, and proof we’re living in the Age of Bullshit.

Let me summarize Mel Gibson, as I now see him. 1) He makes good movies. 2) He drinks and drives. 3) He’s an asshole when he gets arrested. 4) He makes good movies. Until Mel comes to my house, breaks my door down, and molests me or my basset hound, numbers one and four will matter most to me.

3 Comments

Filed under Celebrities

3 responses to “Mel Gibson

  1. I agree wholeheartedly with every point except 1 and 4.

  2. J

    Then we (mostly) agee. I’m a big fan of the mindless and the pointless, which may explain my taste, or lack thereof.

  3. Mel sure has gotten weird in his old age. I wonder if he really hates jews? What happened to the cool young Lethal Weapon Mel?

Leave a Reply

